Monthly Archives: March 2014

British Lit & Society: Elizabethan Poems

British Literature & Society 1: Elizabethan Poems

Here is a .pdf of a selection of English poems written between Shakespeare’s time (late 1500s) and the late 1600s. Download and print them. Although Elizabeth I of England was no longer alive after 1603, there is a certain style to these poems which connects them. Keep in mind that my translations are loose ones and are not literal.

2014-3-27 Elizabethan Poems

Comments on Brit Lit & Soc Presentations, Mar 20

Comments on presentations for British Literature & Society 1, March 20

  1. Presentations are very “read”: the text is read from sheets of paper

  • Result: Energy is low; presentation is boring
  • Volume is low; audience cannot hear
  • Eye contact is minimal; audience loses contact

2. Group presentations have little “group” feel: typically each member has discussed a  different topic, and then one person combined the slides               

  • Result: The audience is confused about how the topics connect to each other
  • There is little clear sense of a “point” to the presentation
  • It’s difficult to ask questions

Contemporary British Novel: Paper 1 Assignment

Paper 1 assignment for Contemporary British Novel

Due: Tuesday, April 22 in class

Submit a paper of about 800 words on one story in Dubliners or on Brave New World. You may not write comparing one novel/story to another novel/story.

You can write about any aspect of the work which you like, and feel free to use your blog posts or presentations to help you think of an idea. You might explain or analyze a character; give your opinion on some part of the story, or its setting, or other features.

Your paper cannot only describe; it must state an opinion, which you support with reasons and examples from the text. You are expected to quote from the work. External references are not necessary, but they are welcome.

Format your paper to MLA (APA is OK too) style and attach the pages with a paper clip. Papers which copy text from the internet and pretend it is your writing will be instantly failed and reported to the department head.

British Lit & Society: Paper 1 Assignment

Paper 1 assignment for British Literature & Society

Due: Monday, April 28 in class

Submit a paper of about 800 words on the Merchant of Venice or an Elizabethan poem or Pride & Prejudice. You may not write comparing one work to another work.

You can write about any aspect of the work which you like, and feel free to use your blog posts or presentations to help you think of an idea. You might explain or analyze a character; give your opinion on some part of the story, or its setting, or other features.

Your paper cannot only describe; it must state an opinion, which you support with reasons and examples from the text. You are expected to quote from the work. External references are not necessary, but they are welcome.

Format your paper to MLA (APA is OK too) style and attach the pages with a paper clip. Papers which copy text from the internet and pretend it is your writing will be instantly failed and reported to the department head.

Campus Life & Vision Videos

Instructions for watching the HY-IN videos:

  1. PC: http://ocw.hanyang.ac.kr -> 학기별 과정 -> 2014년 1학기 -> 로그인(HY-in 계정) -> 대학생활과 비전 설계 (There is no English menu)
  2. Mobile: http://live.hanyang.ac.kr/gen

Instructions for watching the “Managing University Life” videos (PC or mobile):

Campus Life & Vision Schedule

Goals

Vision and Career in Campus Life is meant to equip students with basic college survival skills required to be successful and productive students. The course will cover a variety of topics including active reading and learning, researching and note taking, time management, examination and study skills, interpersonal relations, conflict resolution, responsible drinking, and employment preparation.

Evaluation

  1. Attendance                 33%
  2. Project                         33%
  3. Blog assignments      33%

Here is a tentative schedule for this semester’s meetings with freshmen mentees:

  • Office: Come to Dr. Eckert’s office (7-525)
  • Campus: The meeting will be at an arranged place on campus
  • Video: You can watch the video on your own time; the link will be posted on this blogsite
Wed Mar 5 Introduction Office
Wed Mar 12 MUL Video 1 , 4 Office
Wed Mar 19 Library Orientation Campus
Wed Mar 26 Campus Life & Learning (video)  Video
Wed Apr 2 MUL Video 5, 8 Office (submit blog post!)
Tue Apr 8 Workshop: Power of Questions Campus
Wed Apr 16 Campus Life & Exam Strategy (video)  Video
Wed Apr 23 Midterms – no class
Tue Apr 29 Workshop: Being Remembered Campus
Wed May 7 MUL Video 9, 10 Office (submit blog post!)
Tue May 13 Workshop: Turning Point Campus
Wed May 21 Campus Life & Time Management (video)  Video
Wed May 28 MUL Video 11, 12 Office (submit blog post!)
Wed Jun 4 Campus Life & Communication (video)  Video
Wed Jun 11 Lunch Party  Project due

British Contemporary Novels: New Outline

  • Attendance will be called at the beginning of each class. If you are not here at that time, it is a 2% deduction from your grade.
  • All students can be late or absent twice without penalty.
  • Sick notes are not accepted in this class (exceptions: military service, class trips, hospital stays).

Note that A Pale View of Hills has been removed; we won’t do it in this course.

Tue Mar 5

Introduction to class

Lecture

Thu Mar 6

England at 1900

Lecture

Tue Mar 11

Dubliners

Lecture

Thu Mar 13

Dubliners

Lecture

Tue Mar 18

Dubliners, presenting

Lecture, blog entry due

Thu Mar 20

Dubliners

Presentations

Tue Mar 25

Structure, planning paper types

Lecture, assign paper 1

Thu Mar 27

Modernism

Lecture, Presentations

Tue Apr 1

Brave New World

Lecture

Thu Apr 3

Brave New World

Lecture

Tue Apr 8

Brave New World

Lecture, blog entry due

Thu Apr 10

Brave New World

Presentations

Tue Apr 15

Thesis statements, arguments

Lecture

Thu Apr 17

The Great Divorce

Lecture

Tue Apr 22

The Great Divorce

Lecture, paper 1 due

Thu Apr 24

The Great Divorce

Presentations, blog entry due

Tue May 29

Researching sources, references

Lecture

Thu May 1

England at 1950

Lecture

Thu May 8

Harry Potter

Lecture

Tue May 13

Harry Potter

Lecture

Thu May 15

Harry Potter

Lecture

Tue May 20

Harry Potter

Presentation, blog entry due

Thu May 22

Quoting and integration

Lecture, assign paper 2

Tue May 27

White Teeth, Postmodernism

Lecture, Presentations

Thu May 29

White Teeth

Lecture

Tue Jun 3

White Teeth

Lecture

Thu Jun 5

Academic honesty, MLA style

Lecture, blog entry due

Tue Jun 10

White Teeth

Lecture, podcasts due

Thu Jun 12

White Teeth

Paper 2 due, Readings

British Society & Lit 1: Revised Outline

  • Attendance will be called at the beginning of each class. If you are not here at that time, it is a 2% deduction from your grade.
  • All students can be late or absent twice without penalty.
  • Sick notes are not accepted in this class (exceptions: military service, class trips, hospital stays).

Mon Mar 4

Introduction to class

Lecture

Thu Mar 6

Medieval and renaissance England

Lecture

Mon Mar 10

Merchant of Venice

Lecture

Thu Mar 13

Merchant of Venice

Lecture

Mon Mar 17

Merchant of Venice, presenting

Lecture, blog entry due

Thu Mar 20

Merchant of Venice

Presentations

Mon Mar 24

Structure, planning paper types

Lecture, assign paper 1

Thu Mar 27

Elizabethan poets

Lecture

Mon Mar 31

Elizabethan poets

Lecture, blog entry due

Thu Apr 3

Elizabethan poets

Presentations

Mon Apr 7

Thesis statements, arguments

Lecture

Thu Apr 10

Pride & Prejudice

Lecture

Mon Apr 14

Pride & Prejudice

Lecture

Thu Apr 17

Pride & Prejudice

Lecture

Mon Apr 21

Pride & Prejudice

Presentations, blog entry due

Thu Apr 24

Researching sources, references

Lecture

Mon May 28

Romantic poets

Lecture, paper 1 due

Thu May 1

Romantic poets

Lecture, blog entry due

Thu May 8

Romantic poets

Presentation

Mon May 12

Quoting and integration

Lecture

Thu May 15

Hard Times

Lecture

Mon May 19

Hard Times

Lecture

Thu May 22

Hard Times

Lecture

Mon May 26

Hard Times

Presentation, blog entry due

Thu May 29

Academic honesty, MLA style

Lecture, assign paper 2

Mon Jun 2

Time Machine

Lecture

Thu Jun 5

Time Machine

Lecture, blog entry due

Mon Jun 9

Time Machine

Lecture, podcasts due

Thu Jun 12

Time Machine

Paper 2 due / Readings